The Colorado Classic

Today the west side was buzzing as was downtown but many people simply could not get anywhere.  The Colorado classic is a crazy bike race with 93.5 miles done in Colorado Springs.  Roads on the west side were closed and luckily I was able to get out of my neighborhood without too much trouble.  Apparently the day was filled with live music, food, games, the whole bit and of course a peloton!

I wish I didn’t have to work actually as Death Cab for Cutie was here but such is life.  There was much to do earlier in the week as they had to axe Lance Armstrong as a face for the event as it would violate his restrictions.  Not that I care I suppose in fact I find it incredibly hilarious that his former coach Chris Carmichael has his business based out of Colorado Springs, it’s just up the road and I’ve actually done work for them in the past.

I’m not big on cycling so I suppose it really doesn’t make much difference to me but I’m always glad to see city wide events happen here.  Call it pride for my city?  I mean where else can one have such an amazing view, fairly mild weather most the time, and 360 days of sunshine?  I love my home.

~J

2 thoughts on “The Colorado Classic”

  1. Thought of you when I shod my horse tonight, Joe. End of day light. Quiet, peaceful Shire-cross mare, under a shady tree. Rasp clinches. Pull hind shoes. Trim excess hoof. Reset shoes. Hay to horses. Contented munching . . . Simply magic :)) Dawn

    Like

Leave a Reply

