Pulling Myself Out Of The Brink

Depression and wasted time go hand in hand, I’ve lost a week and all without taking a drink.

So over the last week a lot has changed, inside and out.  Just the last two days I’ve found myself struggling to force myself to do things, to get up and be a human.  Last Wednesday I went to take an early afternoon nap and found myself living in my bed for days.  I did not sleep much as I still have issues sleeping but I did not move.  I moved just enough to use the restroom and eat now and then.  All I did was lie in bed and consider how much I hated myself.

This obviously was not good, I could blame the overcast clouds or weather but honestly it was my own failure that wasted a week.  I had things that I committed to that I failed to do, this ended up pushing me into a spiral hating myself for hating myself and failing.  Examining this is difficult this evening but I need to avoid going through the same thing again.  The bad news is that it happened, the good news is that through all of it I did not drink!  I locked myself in my apartment and lived in my bed for a week, not good either way.

So yesterday morning I had enough, perhaps its because I had a full nights rest for the first time in months or maybe I was just done.  I went to meet a friend of a friend for work and got a line on a hardwood installation job (I used to install gymnasium flooring) and I am today still patiently awaiting the business owner to return from the rodeo he performed at over the holiday weekend so I can nail some flooring!  I planted seeds, some veggies for our complex out in the yard.  I shredded potatoes for hash browns, swept, mopped, vacuumed, and cleaned.

Then I got a phone call from a friend, his gym was doing an exhibition for a no kill rescue (I forget the name exactly and am waiting for pics and info but I think it was DMK).  I’ve spent years practicing eskrima and they wanted to know if I could do a quick 5-10 minute routine, I did a performance of a Sinawali “Heaven Six” which are the basic 6 movements in stick fighting.  Then of course I entered the ring and proceeded to get my ass beat by a friend all in the name of getting pooches adopted.

The last time I was in a ring was probably 17 years ago, it was interesting and yes I spent today nursing wounds and sore.  My pooch, a boxer named Charlie was adopted that evening!  In fact there were 8 of us doing the exhibition each sponsoring a pooch and all 8 pooches were adopted as of this evening!!  I’ve gotten used to deleting emails as most of it’s noise but today I got one that just made me smile.  Three days ago I was a bedridden emotional mess, today I can say I’m actually somewhat happy.  I’ll try and post our group photo as soon as I can get my hands on it, 8 roughnecks in sparring gear with 8 poochies of all sorts.  (it was all I could do not to bring the blue heeler home).

Tonight I hope to sleep, and tomorrow morning a phone call to see if I can go nail some flooring.  I miss the activity and the work but to walk into a massive room with a concrete floor one day and 3-4 days later to walk out of the same room with a wood floor is an amazing feeling.  I’ve got a lot of calls to make and apologies to give out but I will live, and hopefully never find myself in the proverbial “pit of despair” again.

Adopt a shelter pet!!

~J

4 thoughts on “Pulling Myself Out Of The Brink”

  1. I know the living in bed feeling all too well. Last year I literally didn’t leave my house for weeks, I would sleep as much as I could to make the time pass by.

    I’m glad that you recognised that within your “failings” you did actually achieve something and knowing that could definitely lead to a positive spiral. I know it’s harder to go back upwards than it is to come down, you just have to know that it’s possible. It looks to me like you’re headed on the right path and you know what you need to do to get back on it. I hope you get that phone call. Do let us know!

    Like

    1. Well received I’m glad to have support from such an anonymous blogging community we are all human a just trying one day at a time. I got my win today the radishes I planted last week sprouted and I was out long enough to see that. Tomorrow a childhood friend visits and I am hopeful reality is I need to be human again funny how hard reality can be sometimes. Thanks Sara life isn’t so bad when it comes down to it. In 8 hours time I will get to see a sunrise that many travel for these are things I have that money can’t buy. ~J

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Bravo !!! So you survived without a drink Well Done. From all what you are writing, it shows you are moving on the right path and sound very positive too, and begun to act accordingly. All the very best and my prayers are with you all the way. You can do it and you will. Stay strong and positive. 🙂 ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

